DWI Lawyer In Cherry Hill

The legal and nonlegal consequences that can follow a conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) are very serious. A conviction for DWI can be one of the most devastating events for the every-day person. New Jersey has set its presumptive level of intoxication at .08 percent which, if admitted into evidence, is deemed to be a per se violation subjecting you to the mandatory penalties which require, among other things, a driver's license suspension.

We Have Experience Attacking Breath Test Results

Attorney John Zohlman draws on his 18 years of DWI experience to attack breath test results by calling into question the testing procedures followed, the calibration of the machine, ensuring compliance with the required twenty (20) minute observation by the testing officer, the certifications of the officer and a myriad of other potential issues that may result in the test results being deemed inadmissible and thrown out. It is this experienced and comprehensive approach to DWI/DUI defense that makes the difference in the potential outcome.

At Hagner & Zohlman, we understand what is at stake and are committed to helping you through the often-frightening criminal justice process. We stand ready to defend your interests to the fullest extent of the law, and to achieve the least damaging result possible in your case.

Drawing on the experience of former Municipal Court prosecutor and criminal defense lawyer John Zohlman, we can help you make informed decisions and provide you with the aggressive defense you need right now.

To learn how we can help protect your rights and your future - call us toll free at 1-856-320-5322 or contact us online.

DWI And DUI Penalties In New Jersey

New Jersey DWI laws carry significant penalties, including the suspension of driving privileges, thousands of dollars in fines and fees, incarceration, a criminal record, loss of professional licenses and community service.

  • First DWI offense: Your first offense will likely result in:
    • A fine ranging from $500 to $1,000
    • The loss of your drivers' license for three to 12 months
    • A $1,000 driver's insurance surcharge, annually for three years
    • 10 points against your New Jersey license
    • You will also be detained at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (New Jersey IDRC) for a minimum of two days for education about drunk driving and drugs and alcohol treatment.

It should also be noted that New Jersey has no "Cinderella" license that allows you to drive to work during your suspension.

  • Second DWI or DUI conviction: A second conviction earns a mandatory five days in county jail and a two-year license revocation.
  • Third DWI offense: A third or subsequent arrest carries 180 days in jail, a 10-year license revocation and the possibility of court-ordered participation in an alcohol treatment or drug rehabilitation program.

If you refuse an Alcotest 7110 or a Breathalyzer test, the penalties are the same as for a DUI conviction.

  • Drivers under 21: If you are younger than 21, any level of blood-alcohol content other than zero results in a DUI.

For an attorney who can effectively defend you and protect your rights after a DWI arrest, call or contact the law firm of Hagner & Zohlman today at our office in Cherry Hill. Our rates are reasonable. Our representation is personal, caring and effective.

Free consultation. Available 24 hours a day.